Login    Forum    Register    Search    FAQ

Board index » 8start Launcher » Need Help




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 4
Windows Vista Home Premium, SP2, 64Bit
NVidia GeForce 9400 GT (4GB RAM)

I just stumbled on your application, 8Start. It is EXACTLY what I am looking for. Just beautiful and the type of GUI I really like. However, I got a snag adding my desktop icon. It feels it is 'full', it can't take any more icons.

I read the post by BG12, “Runtime error 380”, posted Fri July 17, 2009 ( http://www.8start.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=38&p=106&hilit=%27Invalid+property+value%27#p106 ), applied it but it did not solve my error issue.

I have added about 95% of my desktop icons and can’t add anymore. I get the error "8start Launcher 3.0 caused error 'Invalid property value' (380) in module frmMain procedure Form_Load, line 1808".

When I request to delete the icon from the desktop, it deletes and still will not place it in the 8Starter GUI, then I get the error. The line number depends on where I am placing the icon. I tried different icons, same error.

When done adding 72 icons, only two will launch. When I click on them, nothing happens.

Thanks


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:22 am
Posts: 231
Location:
Hi, glad to know you like 8start Launcher

see if this article can help
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=425

8start Launcher support multiple category, you can create more category to add in more icons.

Hope this help :)

_________________
Maintain a green world for our future


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for your quick reply!

Unfortunately, the link you sent me is for Windows 7, and not Vista. I went to my Windows 7 computer, and it has the "Display" section on it. On my Vista machine, where I would like to use the 8Start, in the "Help & Support" section, I did a search for "100%", "smaller", but could not find any link. It looks am screwed with Vista to use 8Start. Very disappointed - after finding EXACTLY what I would REALLY love to use (8Start).

Please if there is anything you would suggest, PLEASE let me know. Thanks again for your time.

Caxtin


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:22 am
Posts: 231
Location:
I have checked the code, the error is regarding the height of 8start, is that any problem if the 8start only have few icons?

_________________
Maintain a green world for our future


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 4
Currently, I have 72 icons. Sure I can live with less than that if it will work. Just curious, can't 8Start stretch horizontally? With respect to height, please see the attached file. ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/28326772@N07/5961421659/ ) I still have some space left in some groups.

I wanted to delete 'Group 4' but it kept giving me same error. Same error when I need to delete any icon (to shorten the GUI). Guess the solution will be to completely remove 8Start and start all over again - that will be recreating all the already removed application icons.

Thanks again.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:22 am
Posts: 231
Location:
Think the problem caused by too many icons in a category.

Open 8start Launcher\setting folder to delete some icons

Then delete 8start Launcher\cache folder, all icons will be rebuilt

Hope after the rebuild, 8start can be run without problem.

:)

_________________
Maintain a green world for our future


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:31 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for the information.

However, I have reverted to my previous state. I have "Try And Decide" where I had saved an earlier system state. I reverted to the state before installing 8Start, then re-installed 8Start. I should have tried your suggestion in your last post. Later in the afternoon, I will re-do your application and will keep you in touch.

Thanks


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 'Invalid property value' (380)
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:21 am
Posts: 2
I am getting this error too. I only have the General Category with 8 Groups in it. All Buttons are 3xList and 4-Wide. The max number of 3xList icons in any one group is 12, 2 columns of 6.

_________________
Thanks

Gene


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » 8start Launcher » Need Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in D:\Inetpub\vhosts\ggcircuits.com\8start.com\wwwroot\forum\includes\acm\acm_file.php on line 112